For each user in your account you can specify if submitted receipts require approving or not (see How to add users).
When this setting is turned on, any receipts submitted by the user will appear in the receipt inbox with a yellow label saying Pending Approval. The receipt cannot be exported, archived or added to an expense report until it's been approved by a user with web portal access.
Change the approval status by click on the Pending Approval label, or open the receipt detail window and click the link in the approval alert at the top of the Item Details tab.
Approve or reject the receipt by selecting one of the following options:
- Approve item
- Reject and archive (with optional reason)
- Reject and delete
Receipts that have been rejected and archived cannot be unarchived.